Raceroom to move to Unreal Engine 4 in the future.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by bakayoyo, Feb 18, 2017.

1. keanos

keanos Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +137 / 0 / -0
    Will not happen during the next years, it's always the same with those techdemos: "yeah nice advertising, but we will never see this that way.

I mean there is a reason, why the AC/ACC devs will change to develop their own engine for AC2 instead of use UE, after they tried in ACC.

Those engines are good for games, like jump and runs and shooters, or maybe some arcade driving, but for good simulations it seems they are too limited(?) or too hard to handle(?), I don't know ask the ACC devs.

2. FeltHλt

FeltHλt Moderator Beta tester

Ratings:
    +479 / 0 / -0
    or cheaper in a long run

3. Bull shark Too

Bull shark Too Member

Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    Amazing. I’m a former 3D designer. 13 years ago this was only a dream. Now it is unreal 5. Lol. So cool to see this.:D

4. bubblejohns

bubblejohns Active Member

Ratings:
    +25 / 0 / -0
    i dont think its worth a new engine anymore, the feature set for gameplay that are needed are huge and that wont change just with an engine swap, thats just 2 work loads. going for a new game makes more sense to me

• Agree Agree x 5
  5. nickh158

nickh158 Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +69 / 0 / -0
    Not at all. A new engine won't introduce a comprehensive career mode, licences, challenges, or multiplayer with a proper rating/ranking system.
    Check out AMS 2: It has pretty graphics, but has the same number of concurrent users as RR, and 10 times less than AC.
    A new graphics engine won't solve the issues with RR.

• Agree Agree x 1
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2023
  6. davizdj

davizdj New Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Please..dont use UE engine...in vr is the worst thing in the world, look acc, its a f*** shit in vr

• Funny Funny x 2
  7. davizdj

davizdj New Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0