Question Xbox controller

Discussion in 'Community Support' started by Shellslad79, Dec 5, 2016.

1. Shellslad79

Shellslad79 New Member

Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    Hi everyone,

I've always been a console gamer and I'm new to PC gaming. I literally joined Steam and this community yesterday. I've read on several treats and forums that a wired Xbox 360 controller should work on RaceRoom Experience, but while I plugged that controller into my USB port, I can't register it in the game or get it to work. Can any one help me with what's wrong.

2. Christian G

Christian G Topological Agitator Beta tester

Ratings:
    +2,411 / 0 / -0
    Hi,
    it should work, yes.
    What happens when you start the game with the controller plugged in? Usually there should be a pop-up at the top of the screen asking you to configure your controller. Does that appear?
    What you can try (to check if it's recognized at all) is go into the controller options, primary options, double click any function (like throttle or steer left) and press the controller button you want assigned for that. In theory doing so should create a new custom controller profile.

What else can you check...Search for the controller in Windows (press windows key + i, select devices, scroll down to where it says devices and printers and click that. Now you should see a page with all connected devices, including the controller. Right-click it, select gamecontroller settings and make sure that it is set to be the main game controller. Next click on options and in the window that pops up go to preferences. Here you can (re-)calibrate your controller, do that.)

If nothing helps, report back here.
    Good luck

Last edited: Dec 5, 2016
  3. Shellslad79

Shellslad79 New Member

Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    Hello Christian,

I haven't had time yet to try what you told me, but i can tell you what I've done so far.