Taking the next step

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Paul Blachford, Jul 30, 2021.

1. Paul Blachford

Paul Blachford New Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hey fellow Sim Racers,
    I'm quite new to sim racing, been playing racing games on controllers for years, but in a mid-life crisis moment I thought I should up my game and get a proper wheel and some pedals, I'm now the proud owner of a TX-XW wheelbase with a Sparco Wheel, and a some TC LM loadcell pedals, so far so good, made the mistake of starting with iRacing and the toxicity/elitism put me off, I've now discovered Raceroom from watching a few videos on Youtube, so jumped in and have enjoyed finishing towards the back of the field :)

after few frustrating hours, if I want to improve I need to get some of the basics right, so I have a few questions;

1. I can't afford a cockpit, so my wheel/pedal are on a next level stand and I'm using my Office chair which is on wheels this has been a source of frustration and getting comfortable and being able to apply steady pressure on the pedal is seriously affecting performance, does anyone have any advice on how best get comforatable I'm 6ft 3in so quite a tall guy.

2. What makes good practice? Empty boxés video made me realize endlessly doing laps isn't the answer (it some it I guess)

3. Raceroom have leagues to enter, ranked racing is spot on but i'd like to focus on a series as I'm a beginner and learning 8 million tracks effectively not possible ( Rela life commitments don't help)

Many thanks in advance!

2. Maskerader

Maskerader Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +356 / 0 / -0
    If that's the video I think is, he meant that if you don't have a clear goal for your practice, you're wasting time. I wouldn't call it useless if you're doing "endless laps" in order to: 1) learn the track; 2) learn the car behaviour and get comfortable with it (or adjust the setup); or 3) work on your consistency.

3. Lixma

Lixma Honorary QA

Ratings: