Is Raceroom more demanding than AC?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Dong Woo Kang, Jan 22, 2021.

1. Dong Woo Kang

Dong Woo Kang New Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi, Raceroom newbie here,

I finally had the chance to try out this wonderful sim, and I was wondering if I'm getting the maximum performance out of my PC, because my hardware (i7-3770/GTX1060 3GB/16GB RAM, not the best in the world) doesn't seem to perform similarly to AC on medium to low settings doing singleplayer races.

My 60hz monitor loses the smoothness unless the framerate exceeds 100FPS or Vsync is on. In AC, I can maintain 105~130FPS with 15 artificial idiots on track, whereas Raceroom frequently goes somewhere below 80, especially in the corners. Well, the comparison isn't exactly fair because I suppose both titles handle things like reflections and shadows differently.

I always thought Raceroom was less hardware intensive than its competitors, but perhaps I'm wrong as of 2021 with all of the major updates? Still, really enjoying my first hours driving in this sim :)

2. BeefMcQueen

BeefMcQueen Well-Known Member Beta tester

Ratings:
    +183 / 0 / -0
    Hi @Dong Woo Kang there are some graphic settings in raceroom that are quite taxing fps wise, but can be dialed down without sacrificing optics too much. You already named some: Car reflections on medium and car shadows low still give a decent look. If you have motion blur enabled, be sure to switch to the fast render method instead of complex and it's strength to medium or low. A higher number of A.I. also can have a significant fps impact, depending on the single core potential of your CPU. You can have a look here. There's a graphics settings breakedown in the very first post. Hope it helps https://forum.sector3studios.com/index.php?threads/vr-performance-tweaks-tips.13068/

Oli

3. Maskerader

Maskerader Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +355 / 0 / -0